What are little boys made of?

What are little boys made of?

What are little boys made of?

Frogs and snails

And puppy-dogs’ tails,

That’s what little boys are made of.

 

I am home alone with the terrorist this week and things are a bit hectic.

Last night as I ran his bath, he was standing next to the bath ‘helping’ me, while I was getting the water temperature right.  I realised that I had not yet boiled the kettle for his night time bottle and left him standing next to the bath to dash off to the kitchen to put the kettle on.  I was scarcely gone for 5 seconds, when I returned he was standing in the same spot I left him in, happily rolling down the roll of toilet paper right into his bathwater.

I would love to say that I handled this matter with poise and grace, would love to.

Unfortunately I had a total sense of humour failure; which was exaggerated as I was forced to go down on all fours to scrape the paper maché of the side of the bath while simultaneously trying to keep Tristan away from the toilet brush and muttering a steady stream of obscenities under my breath.

Thinking about this made me flash back to two weeks ago.  We were making breakfast and Tristan snuck out of the house, no more than a mere minute passed before his dad caught him on the porch, eating a snail with great gusto. He was thoroughly unhappy when his dad scraped the remains of the snail out of his mouth, and I even more so when I learnt that the first thing he grabbed before his dad could rinse his mouth was my toothbrush.

Sidebar:          I haven’t been able to stand the sound of someone eating a     cookie or a rusk for weeks as it reminds me of the sickening crunch I heard while he was chowing down on the snails shell *shudder*

 



Leave a Reply

