In case you were wondering…

I spend alot of time on the internet, especially forums, skype and such (unless my boss asks of course in which case I am busy with work all day long).

You learn to pick up the lingo,which is great, because it really gets cumbersome to type of these long-winded sentences so abreviations and acronyms makes things easier.  As with any language it takes a while to get the hang of it, and inevitably there seems to be those that really has no idea what is going on.

<One of my pet peeves is people using words/acronyms that they do not understand and then eventually it ends up being used in the wrong context, or bad grammar. This seems to be prevalent on forums and blogs and such.  Don’t get me wrong, this is not a personal attack on anyone, I myself make plenty of spelling mistakes and do not purport to be perfect, in fact I am sure that there are plenty of people that can vouch that I am very far from that. >

One such misuse is really getting on my nerves…

LOL or Laugh out Loud

Surprisingly, one would think that this is really self exaplanitory, if only.  This is supposed to be used when something is really funny, when *and here is the kicker* it actually makes you laugh out loud. So if say I said my cat died, then LOL would not be the proper response, unless you are a sadist with some serious mommy issues and responsible for the said death.

LOL can also be substituted for ROFLMAO (Rolling on the floor laughing my ass off), LMAO (Laughing my ass off) or even LMSO (Laughing my socks off).

But please, for the LOVE OF NEPTUNE (thank you Spongebob) only use it when something is actually funny.

I implore you.

Here is some of the places I have seen it used…

I went to bed late last night-LOL < I ask you, really, what is so funny in that?>

I have a killer headache LOL <Again, this may just be me, but I fail so see the humor in that too>

or my personal favourite:

In response to a compliment…isn’t that usually where ‘Thank you’ goes?

I dare you, go and look amongst your friends Facebook status’es, Tweets, Blogs and you would be surprised how many of them suffer from a bad case of  “Lollage

 

 

One thought on “In case you were wondering…

  1. Pingback: This is to good not to share… « Scaredmom's Blog

Leave a Reply

