World Forgiveness Day

27th August is World Forgiveness Day.

The aim of this initiative, according to what I can find, is to forgive the unforgivable. I am not so sure about that.

I am all for forgiveness, I try mostly, to forgive those who have wronged me, and I hope in turn those that I have wronged will forgive me.

But I have a question, when do we cross the fine line between forgiving someone repeatedly and being their doormat?

When can we say, okay this is enough, I am just enabling you to walk all over me, I am done now.

As Christians we are taught there should be no limit to the amount of times we forgive, after all we are not allotted a certain amount of “pardons”.  What my head says is something completely different though.  How does one marry the two?

Leave a Reply

